Posted by: Waheeda Harris | June 15, 2012

I can still taste it…

I’m thinking about Mexico today – particularly about my recent trip to La Paz on the Baja peninsula. And I must admit, I’m hungry.

I’m thinking about one of my favourite dishes of the past months – shrimp ceviche. I could have easily eaten another platter of it – thankfully I had friends to share it with me.

Fresh, spicy, with tomatoes, onions, spices and avocado mixed with the chopped shrimp, I could have easily gone back to this restaurant and ordered this again and again for the four days I was in La Paz.

It made me think of when I was in Dusseldorf several years ago and I found a lovely bakery that I went to several times. Each time I ordered a flaky powdered pastry filled with almond paste and a hint of raspberry jam.

When I was in Turkey and after wandering the Grand Bazaar in Istanbul, and was given a taste of rose Turkish delight, a delicate combination of floral and sugar – just as unique as tasting the flavorful hot sauce of Cracker P’s beach bar in the Abacos. Somehow these   tastes are just as vivid now as when I first experienced them.

Names may fade into the less accessible areas of my brain, but those tastes – permanently etched onto my palate. And I know that to experience them in the same way, I have to return – there’s no recreating the taste in a Canadian metropolis without the surrounding environment – the landscape, the scents, the people.

And on a quiet day, working at home, its those memories that are easily conjured up, encourage me to look at my photos or past blog posts, and make me happy of what I’ve experience and hungry.

Leave a Reply

Categories

