Posted by: Waheeda Harris | July 24, 2012

Looking to the horizon

I’ve always liked visiting islands – each place has a unique feel, no matter the proximity to other islands.

And I’ve always wondered what it would be like to island-hop – to pick one island and keep going – stopping for a few days and moving on.

Many of the islands I’ve visited in the Caribbean are very close together – yet I’ve not had the chance to do the ideal, to pop around from isle to isle.

When I was in the Bahamas, I went from New Providence to the Abaco Islands, taking a boat ride through the Abacos. When I visited Trinidad and Tobago, and I went to both islands, happily taking a 20 minute flight between the two.

That’s as much as I can say I’ve island hopped – but I wanted to change that on my next trip to the Caribbean.

When I went on my second trip to Grenada, I didn’t have a chance to visit Carriacou, another island that’s part of Grenada. Yet I kept seeing the island from the shores. As I drove along the coast, exploring many different areas, I would look to the horizon and see Carriacou.

When I asked about the trip – everyone would say – oh it doesn’t take long to take the ferry, but you may not get back, since sometimes they need to cancel the ferry because of rough seas.

As it was discussed, everyone kept saying the same thing, talking about the island’s beauty and relaxing environment, but also cautioning that the way to get back in a day may not be by boat.

But I wanted to go – to hop over and hop back – but alas I didn’t have the time in my schedule. But I still think about that trip – and know its in my future….island hopping, its feeding my travel lust…

Leave a Reply

Categories

