Posted by: Waheeda Harris | November 7, 2012

The ideal of a city

Discovering something new about a city is always a good day – and especially when it its a spur of the moment decision.

I think of Vancouver as an old friend – someone I know well and have certain expectations, but sometimes an old friend can reveal something new. I knew about the many trails of North Vancouver to go hiking, but didn’t know the Baden Powell trail in Deep Cove.

Up me and my friend went – heading into the forest, walking the steps over logs and under the cool canopy of the west coast trees. I kept stopping to take photos and to catch my breath, working hard as I headed slowly uphill.

At one point we passed a school group who were racing back down to the entrance, who told us the end of the trail was either 10 minutes or 40 minutes away.

But as we continued we were glad for the unique vistas of the forest, the occasional trickling sounds of a creek and the relaxed state despite my workout as we kept going.

After an hour we decided to turn back, because of our time limits for what we needed to do that day. We found out it was another 45 minutes from the midpoint where we stopped.

So I didn’t get to see the ocean from a cliff – as my friend did when she went back a few days later to finish the hike on her own.

But I did get a good dose of Vancouver and British Columbia – and a workout from being among the trees.

Leave a Reply

Categories

