Posted by: Waheeda Harris | January 8, 2013

Fave places 2012: the islands of Trinidad and Tobago, Caribbean (part one)

Trinidad - T&T sweetsI’ve always heard amazing things about Trinidad & Tobago – and that’s thanks to all the fabulous people I’ve met from these islands. They’re passionate about their islands, their culture and their cuisine – and although I undestood, now I truly get it.

I was lucky enough to spend time on both islands, exploring land and the sea, eating my way through the numerous suggestions from friends about what to eat while I there.

I liked the mix of cultures and religions and the belief that everyone was welcome in this island – and that even though its main focus wasn’t tourism, but the inherent spirit of the island was so incredibly hospitable.

So as I explored and learned about T&T, experienced how the locals wander their island and what makes these islands distinct from their Caribbean neighbours, I was glad to know that as so many have proven before – you have to come here to know it here.

Trinidad - Port of Spain downtown

Trinidad - Hyatt fish and channa curry

Trinidad - Port of Spain

Trinidad - Temple in the Sea

Trinidad - Maracas beach 2

Trinidad - party boat

 

For more images of Trinidad & Tobago, check out part two…

Leave a Reply

Categories

