Posted by: Waheeda Harris | February 12, 2013

Throw me something!

New Orleans - Mardi Gras Canal St parade Happy Mardi Gras!

I’m envious of those who are in the Crescent City today – seeing the parades, getting a photo taken with a Mardi Gras Indian and having a good time with family and friends.

I’d be wearing a costume – I was thinking if I had been there, I would have channeled my love for Cher circa 1970, wearing a long wig and big earrings, and happily sporting some form of sparkly long dress or jumpsuit.

With my friends, we’d go to the parade, catch some beads, have some laughs and run into friends and acquaintances as we explored the city and all that was going on. Music would be always around us – from pop to rock, jazz to funk.

We’d stop in for a drink here and there, eating local treats and making sure to take advantage of a bathroom when possible. I’d probably dance and strut and walk more than usual in one day.

And we’d keep going until the early evening, then happily heading home to relax and raise a last glass to the day.

And unlike any other city in North America, wearing glitter, makeup, drinking cocktails all day and yelling for plastic beads is everyone’s right today, if you’re in New Orleans.

New Orleans - Mardi Gras revellers

Leave a Reply

Categories

