Posted by: Waheeda Harris | March 8, 2013

Travel like a lady

W & mum at DisneyLike many of us, I’m blessed to have my Mum in my life. And I’ve always known she is a lady and wanted me to be one too.

Her life lessons to me are ones that influence my daily life and are definitely influential on my travelling ways – no matter how times change, these rules never go out of style.

I’m thankful to my Mum for the following five tips:

1. If you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all. (or as I’ve adapted, that’s interesting! – there will always be someone you meet that you don’t like or disagree with, but there’s no need to not be anything but nice to them – always take the higher ground)

2. It’s ok to be direct, bold, aggressive or angry – but never be rude. There’s no excuse to be rude. (as I’ve seen so many people treat hotel staff, airline staff and people in service roles with disdain – don’t. It’s not acceptable – and believe me being polite is always welcome, no matter the place).

3. Don’t look like a slob, especially when travelling. (I’m not going to dress like I’m meeting the Queen when I travel, but a pretty scarf, jewellery and a little effort goes a long way. Although its rare to get an upgrade these days, my politeness and brightly-coloured scarf, as the gate agent complimented me on, led me into business class on a recent flight).

4. Use the bathroom! (although this may make you laugh, or remind you of being a child, its true. Take the opportunity.)

5. Always say thank you and better still, send a thank you note. (Despite the time and effort of mailing a letter via snail mail, its always appreciated and welcomed. The little gesture of saying thank you never goes out of style and I love putting a note in the mail – its just as fun as receiving)

So as I continue my travels, whether urban exploration or rural discovery, I remember my rules and know that my Mum’s guidance has never failed me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

