Posted by: Waheeda Harris | March 20, 2013

Celebrating Spring

Vancouver - magnoliaLike many of my fellow Canadians, I need to celebrate Spring.

I need to know that temperatures will rise, that blossoms will start to show up on trees and that flowers will be pushing through the dirt to rise up to the sky.

It was snowing on and off all day yesterday in Toronto, and the sun was elusive, yet everyone was talking about Spring on tv and radio. Today its a bright sunny day, although the temperatures don’t reflect my ideal of spring weather.

Last year I was truly celebrating Spring by being in my home province of British Columbia, seeing the tulips, crocuses, daffodils, pansies and cherry blossoms welcoming me from every direction.

It was a sight that I grew up seeing every year – that first blush of warmth that caused that riot of pink, yellow, red and orange to make the landscape pretty again.

And although I can’t be in BC this spring, I encourage anyone who needs a dose of the season to head west – it will alleviate any lasting effects of the end of winter.

So despite the cold of winter blanketing a lot of Canada, we’re all committed to celebrating spring – even if it doesn’t yet look like it outside.

Vancouver - cherry blossoms

Victoria - BC daffodils

Leave a Reply

Categories

