Posted by: Waheeda Harris | April 12, 2013

Bahamian images

When I think of the Bahamas, I have many images that go through my head – friends, beach, conch – its all a part of the experience of visiting these islands.

So when I try to figure out images that represent where I’ve been and what I want to remember, I think of this:

Bahamas - collage

I think of this chair at Harbour Island’s The Dunmore, a lovely perch to look out at the Pink Sands Beach, or the fun of my friends’ kids as they play in the backyard.

I remember seeing Balcony House, the oldest wooden structure in downtown Nassau, or the image of Blackbeard the pirate, who happily called New Providence Island his home as he pillaged ships who came close. And of course, the tasty conch fritters, a local delicacy that is inherent to any visit to these islands.

And that’s barely scratching the surface of this island nation:

Bahamas - Harbour Island

Here’s some images of Harbour Island, one of the Out Islands – and the water is THAT blue and the sand is pink! Do I really need show you what the Bahamas really is? For me, this is what comes to me…

Leave a Reply

Categories

