Posted by: Waheeda Harris | July 2, 2013

The adventure begins

Ecuador - San Cristobal IslandI couldn’t imagine I was about to visit Ecuador’s Galapagos Islands – it didn’t seem real.

Flying from Quito via Guayaquil to San Cristobal wasn’t a long journey, but it felt like I had left behind the world and embarked on a journey to a rare spot on the planet.

I knew that I would be amazed by what I discovered, and excited for the opportunity to explore, learn and photograph.

I realized I would be adding a unique destination to my travel list, that it was a place I had hoped for a long time I would be able to visit.

As I took the bus to the docks, I spotted this mural – showing off some of the wildlife of these islands I would get to see. I wondered if I would see one or two? would it be close or far? Would I be able to go snorkeling or swimming?

My excitement was bubbling up inside, and I took a deep breath of the salty warm air.

I lined up to board a zodiac to take me to my home for the next days among the Galapagos Islands.

And I couldn’t stop smiling – knowing that my adventure would be unforgettable. Anticipation fueled my adrenaline and I kept my eyes on the horizon, excited to see what would be revealed.

Leave a Reply

Categories

