Posted by: Waheeda Harris | July 18, 2013

Galapagos Islands lasting memories

Ecuador - Galapagos skyThe hardest part of any trip – staying in the moment.

I found when I was in the Galapagos Islands I was so fixated on seeing and experiencing as much as possible, that I needed a nudge to be reminded to take time to just enjoy.

This destination was one of those that has become very iconic for travellers – and yet at the same time its almost become a checklist – did you see these animals? go to these islands? Snorkel, swim, photograph, dive, document every moment?

On my last night on board my G Adventures ship, I took a moment to go on the top deck and just gaze out at the skyline during sunset.

I thought about where I was at the moment, how lucky I was to be there and to experience so many great memories from the Galapagos Islands.

From the endless array of frigate birds and blue footed boobys to the sea lions, penguins, fish, iguanas, sharks, turtles, tortoises and all kinds of creatures who live in harmony on these islands.

I learned about the planet’s history, geography and the future as the Earth continues to change these islands, making some bigger and taking some islands back below the surface.

And I made a promise to myself to encourage anyone and everyone to go – and to make a promise to experience and take time to reflect.

Leave a Reply

Categories

