Posted by: Waheeda Harris | October 24, 2013

Project 13 September

In September I was in a whirlwind of travel from France back to Canada and to the United Arab Emirates and back to Canada. In an ideal world, I wished I could have spent more in each place, but I’m grateful for the week I got to spend in both.

Marseille was a beautiful place to explore Provence:

Project 13- September collage b

I loved seeing the Salvador Dali sculptures in the Vieux Port, the Venetian carousel in the midst of a shopping district, and the classical sculpture at Palais Longchamp. But it was this swimming sculpture installation at Aix-en-Provence’s Hotel Gallifet, that has stuck with me. The bright pink pieces sitting in the stones, like calm waters, is one of my favourite images.

And then I was in the desert and glitz of Dubai and Abu Dhabi in the United Arab Emirates:

Project 13- september b collage

From the old spice souk in Dubai and the ability to come face to face with a camel in the desert to the glitzy accessories for sale at the market and the glamour of the hotels, like the Al Hanan bar at the Shangri-La Hotel in Abu Dhabi, there’s nothing simple about this part of the world.

I had to challenge myself to be careful about photographing people and to avoid the stereotypes of the Middle East – which was easier done thanks to having been here before.

Like to see more of Project 13? Check out my Flickr set.

Leave a Reply

Categories

