Posted by: Waheeda Harris | October 28, 2013

First glimpse: Dallas, Texas

I arrived just before sunset at DFW – but for the first time, I was leaving the airport, not walking from gate to gate.

But although I was in Texas, I didn’t see a cowboy. In fact, not one person was wearing a cowboy hat.  Everyone I met from airport staff to my taxi driver to the hotel staff were all recent transplants to Dallas.

But they all loved Dallas – and were happy to tell me why.

They loved the opportunity in this city and that although it wasn’t as big as Los Angeles or New York City or Chicago, it was a city that was still affordable, welcoming and had plenty of new things going on.

Dallas - sunset colour

As I looked out at the skyline of Dallas from my hotel room, spotting the night lights, I was curious to explore this famous city of Texas – and to find a cowboy.

Dallas - Omni Hotel

Leave a Reply

Categories

