Posted by: Waheeda Harris | October 29, 2013

From brick to flowers

I woke up on my first full day in Dallas, seeing the sun slowly rise over the downtown – and loving the old brick buildings in my view:

Texas - Dallas am

As I got ready to explore, I enjoyed a lovely breakfast at my hotel, one of the daily perks, and a complimentary inclusion for guests. I tried not to get distracted by the many other perks, like the newly-installed snooker table:

Dallas - HW snooker

I went to explore Dallas – but instead of wandering the downtown, I headed out to the city’s Arboretum and Botanical Gardens, showcasing the flowers of the seasons, the newly-opened Children’s Garden, as well as an amazing display of pumpkins:

Dallas - Arboretum archway

Dallas - Arboretum purple flowers

Dallas - Botanical Gardens pumpkin patch

And as I continued to explore, I realized how beneficial it was to start learning about a city from the outside, in the sun and seeing so many pretty sights. We ended our tour of the Arborteum and Botanical Gardens in the Women’s Garden, a serene place that was a welcome place for contemplation, and a perfect way to end a morning in the Big D.

Dallas - women's garden fountain

Dallas - Women's garden statue

 

(Yesterday’s post about Dallas can be found here)

Leave a Reply

Categories

