Posted by: Waheeda Harris | November 1, 2013

Eating my way through Dallas

Having had the pleasure of visiting Texas before, I was all about having some barbecue. I was ready for some smoky slow-cooked beef or chicken, perhaps a bit of sauce on the side?

But when I arrived, since it was late on a Monday night, the place I wanted to check out was already closed. So I tucked my disappointed barbecue dreams away and focused on other cuisine.

I benefitted from stay at Homewood Suites, as every morning breakfast was available in the spacious dining area/lounge and was a complimentary inclusion for all guests.

And it wasn’t the exact same thing either – but a wide range of offerings for all types of breakfast from yoghurt, fruit and toast to eggs, bacon and hash browns. My fave – the biscuits!

Visiting the stylish Highland Park eatery Patrizio at lunch, I indulged in classic Italian favourites like buratta bruschetta and thin crust pizza with pesto and chicken (and plenty of iced tea):

Dallas - Patrizio lunch

And  I got to visit modern resto Stampede 66, with its unique twist on Mexican and American cuisine:

From the starters, like the Shiner Bock beer bread and tasty tacos to the spicy shrimp and grits, I was impressed with the flavours and my ability to save room for a bite of the pecan pumpkin pie.

But don’t worry – I had some barbecue, after strolling the Bishop Arts District, I sat down with my friends at Lockhart Smokehouse BBQ:

Dallas - Lockhart Smokehouse chef

After figuring out what we would choose, we watched as our choices were cut and wrapped in white paper, to be transported to a table:

Dallas - Lockhart lunch

What did we choose? Ribs, chicken and brisket, as well as baked beans, macaroni and cheese, coleslaw and potato salad. And the result:

Dallas - Lockhart leftovers

I will admit we four girls did a great job polishing off the tasty offerings at Lockhart. And that I made a sandwich and took it with me for my departure from Dallas, a last smoky taste.

(Yesterday’s exploration of Dallas can be found here)

Leave a Reply

Categories

