Posted by: Waheeda Harris | November 13, 2013

Stopping, slowing, taking time…

Sitting at the airport in Vancouver in late October, on my way to Dallas, I was thinking about standing in my friends’ backyard, and seeing a spider’s web:

Vancouver - spider's web

The unique pattern, highlighted by the morning dew had caught my eye. I thought about how long it had taken a spider to create the web, and yet in a moment, it could be destroyed.

I thought about how as a traveller I had that unique privilege – see the a part of the planet in a moment and it could change dramatically after I had been there.

As I stood in the quiet of the backyard I thought about how many places I had visited repeatedly and how many new places I had been lucky to see in the past months of the year.

As I considered the path of my past travels, I also realized I needed time to consider the future – where I would go and how I would get there. It was time to spend some time at home.

Leave a Reply

Categories

