Posted by: Waheeda Harris | November 18, 2013

Street art: Quito, Ecuador

Ecuador - Quito's El Panecillo MadonnaMy travelling has fueled my devotion to art, and especially to street art. From murals to graffiti, sculpture to architecture, I’m always on the lookout to see what can be found on the street of cities I visit.

In Ecuador it started with this lady (seen above), the El Panecillo Madonna, who oversees the city of Quito.

Quito - angels

When I think of Ecuador, I think of my time in the rainforest jungle, the wildlife of the Galapagos Islands and all the people I got to share those experiences – but then my mind turns to the colourful street art, which was easily found throughout the downtown.

Quito - girl and lion

From neighbourhoods to main streets, street art was easily seen – colourful, bold and at times, the most noticeable art on the street, more so than any shop sign or billboard:

Quito - bird mural

And as I wandered, I kept seeing all different styles, from the beginner to the expert:

profile

kids and graffiti

silver tag

And my favourite, a parking spot in Quito, decorated by a determined artist:

Quito - graffiti Edward

Responses

  1. […] Want to see more street art? Check out yesterday’s post on Quito, Ecuador.  […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

