Posted by: Waheeda Harris | December 18, 2013

Memories of May 2013 – Ecuador’s rainforest

Ecuador - rainforest river

On my first day in the rainforest, my group hiked a short path through the dense vegetation and came to this cliff – where all we could see was trees and river.

For me, it was the beginning of a week where I was cut off from my norma life – no electricity, no internet and living with the basics in a shared cabin.

Ecuador - rainforest home

And although I’m the kind of person who doesn’t really like to rough it, I loved every minute. Even when I was tired or wet or dirty or dealing with endless mosquito bites, I was happily focused on the beauty and strength of this fragile environment.

Ecuador - rainforest hammock area

And the camraderie of being with a group of travellers was unforgettable – learning as much about them as I did about myself as we explored the rainforest.

With each moment, my experiences reminded me of the power of the planet to take care of us and why we need a reminder of how lucky we are to have this blue planet.

Ecuador - rainforest river

Ecuador - rainforest rubber boots

Ecuador - Napo River

Ecuador - rainforest canopy

Ecuador - rainforest dinner

Ecuador - rainforest waterfall

Leave a Reply

Categories

