Posted by: Waheeda Harris | March 20, 2014

Barbecue please!

I love me some barbecue. It reminds me of summer, and the scents that wander from backyard to backyard.

It makes me think of Austin, Texas and dining at Stubbs BBQ for the first time – and tasting slow cooked brisket.

I think of those big outdoor grills  used at the beach (like this on Isla Saona in the Dominican Republic) and how the devotees can just stand there and salivate over the smoke and fat and meat:

Dominican Republic  - Saona Island grill

Or how me and my colleague stood and had our mouth watering as the chef cooked fresh abalone on the grill in Cayucos, California:

California - Abalone Farm grilled abalone

Tasting the difference of grilled conch at Cracker P’s, a beach bar in the Abaco Islands of the Bahamas:

Bahamas - Cracker P's grilled conch

Or maybe it was the delicious spread shared by friends at Lockhart BBQ in Dallas, Texas:

Dallas - Lockhart lunch

Or finding the Redbones food truck in Boston for some Massachusetts styled slow cooked brisket:

Massachusetts - Boston's Redbones bbq sandwich

And never giving up hope, that I’ll some day return to this wee beach in Tobago and Chef Sugar Lips will cook for me again after a morning of snorkeling:

Tobago - Sugar Lips lunch

Leave a Reply

Categories

