Posted by: Waheeda Harris | March 31, 2014

The island game

Some travellers play the country game – listing the number of countries they’ve been to on the planet. I’ve never actually counted – although I must admit I’m curious – one day I’ll figure it out.

world map

But I do play another game – the island game. An old acquaintance who was smitten with islands told me that he had counted how many islands he had visited since he was young – so I decided to keep a list going too.

In the past 10 days, I’ve added six islands to my list – Grand Turk, Tortola, Virgin Gorda, St. Barthemely, St. Maarten and Puerto Rico. And I added a new destination on Dominican Republic – Samana.

So how do I remember? I’m not sure to be honest – but if someone asks me – have you been there? I can easily say yes or no. But as I get older, I worry that I may forget a place – or at least have a vague memory that I can’t quite recall.

So how to keep the island game going?

I decided that in the current time period of my life – or at least since 2008, when I set up my Flickr page – I have a category called islands – and that helps me remember all those isles from small to big, from long visits to repeated visits to a few hours visiting.

And what was my favourite in the past 10 days:

Virgin Gorda - Devil's Bay

Devil’s Bay on Virgin Gorda was my favourite – for its turquoise clear waters perfect for swimming and snorkeling and for its unique location, found after a hike through the massive boulders from The Baths National Park. And anytime anyone wants to send me back – I’m ready to go again.

Leave a Reply

Categories

