Posted by: Waheeda Harris | April 22, 2014

Wandering the streets of King William Historic District

Arriving in San Antonio, I knew I had a few things on my agenda – and the first: check out the King William Historic District.

San Antonio - KW house

This house said it all to me – an old wooden structure, not perfect, but perfectly loved and with a colourful adornment for the annual Fiesta hanging out front.

As I walked through this neighbourhood of large gardens and big trees, colourful wood homes with charm and and style and a retail strip that was filled with independent businesses and a bit of sass.

San Antonio - King William 1

The sweet scent of jasmine permeated the air since its Spring and my stomach was very happy after a tasty Tex-Mex lunch at Tito’s on South Alamo.

San Antonio - King William 2

But it was the bright colours and slightly odd spirit that won me over – nothing was too serious in this neighbourhood, especially not the gold porch chair I spotted in front of this stately home.

As I headed back downtown, I missed the unique combination of residential and distinct, but knew I would return to wander these streets before I left.

San Antonio - Riverwalk city view

Leave a Reply

Categories

