Posted by: Waheeda Harris | June 9, 2014

The world within the walls of Pingyao

From train to golfcart to guesthouse, after a day trip through the northern Chinese countryside from Datong, I ended up staying here:

Pingyao guesthouse door

And after passing through the entrance, I found this lovely courtyard and lush sitting area outside the rooms:

Pingyao - guesthouse courtyard

 

My courtyard oasis was on the quiet edge of the walled city near the north gate, and after a shower and a rest, it was time to explore and find my bearings of this amazingly interesting UNESCO World Heritage site:

As I explored the city, I found its combination of old and new a happy mix, and one that would keep me entertained and engaged about the history and the modernity of Pingyao.

Leave a Reply

Categories

