Posted by: Waheeda Harris | July 30, 2014

I wish I could…

do many things…scuba dive, rock climb and drive (!), but one thing that I wish I didn’t have: food allergies. It prevents me from tasting something amazing like this:

Anguilla - Davida's seafood salad

This is a seafood salad from beachside bar Davida’s on Crocus Bay. And my allergies prevent me from eating anything with a claw as I like to describe – lobster, crab or crayfish. But oddly, I can eat shrimp and prawns. Not sure why, and I don’t want to question it. (Note – I’ve had this allergy since I was five, when I happily ate fresh crab for the first time and ended up in the Emergency Room of the local hospital.)

So as I watch my fellow travellers enjoy the delights of one of the most popular items on a menu in Anguilla, I took a photo and happily ate my amazingly tasty shrimp caesar salad pizza:

Anguilla - Davida's shrimp caesar salad pizza

And yet I really wanted to take a bite of the crayfish. As I dined at several other restaurants, crayfish and lobster were popular options and I sighed and looked for the tasty fresh fish instead. I didn’t suffer, but oh how I wish I could be like a local.

 

Responses

  1. Wow, that seafood salad looks amazing, but I wouldn’t be able to eat it either since I’m allergic to lobster. I think you did well with the shrimp caesar salad pizza!


Leave a Reply

Categories

