Posted by: Waheeda Harris | October 22, 2014

My favourite souvenir

I’m dedicated to sending postcards to friends – and my other favourite souvenir activity of travel is when I’m at the beach: I collect shells.

Florida - Don Pedro Is shells

I’ve walked the beaches of many locales from Asia, Australia to North America and the Caribbean to find shells. But my favourite place was definitely Don Pedro Island near Punta Gorda Florida. On the west coast of Florida, the Gulf of Mexico seems to share so many shells with beach lovers like me.

I’m a bit of a perfectionist – only picking up shells that are still almost completely intact – no shards or chunks, just the whole shell. I like seeing a wide range of colours and patterns and when I’m lucky, the multicolour iridescence of a special shell.

On my most recent trip, a jaunt to Hilton Head Island in South Carolina, I had the luck of not only cycling on the beach for the first time, but seeing some great beach activity and finding a new treasure:

South Carolina - bike morning

I spotted a sand dollar! Sitting in the wet sand, I carefully pried up the sand dollar, which was such a pretty sight! Although I felt a bit guilty, I put it in my beach bag and carried on in my travels on my bike.

But sadly, my camera shifted and my sand dollar got crushed by my stuff. So I took all the shards and tossed them back in the sea and when I saw another sand dollar the next day, I picked it up and tossed it back into the sea. I think its good karma for this shell seeker.

Leave a Reply

Categories

