Posted by: Waheeda Harris | February 5, 2015

Throwback Thursday – Carnaval de Quebec

Bonhomme CarnivalSeveral Februarys ago, I brought all my layers and headed to the oldest walled city of North America: Quebec City, to celebrate the annual Carnaval de Quebec.

I met Bonhomme Carnaval, I wandered around in the snow and cold, I was the coldest I had ever been, and realized I had had the most fun ever outdoors in the winter.

The festival offers many distractions – wandering the ice palace and village of Bonhomme Carnaval, enjoying sweet and spiked treats to survive the cold and endless activities from sledding and dog races to zip lining and ice carving competitions.

Quebec City - dogsledding at carnivalMy favourite was seeing the dog races – people crowded around the streets of the race course and the dogs were excited to run. I admit it wasn’t something I had initially thought I would enjoy but I did.

Another reason to not prejudge a situation. I’ve travelled with fellow writers who have such a decided view of the world, that it often prevents them from seeing or enjoying. Isn’t it the best feeling when something surprises you while on the road?

My preference is still to avoid winter and think of it from a distant. Quebec City made winter feel fun – and reminded me how travel can change your perspective – even if just for a few days.

Leave a Reply

Categories

