Posted by: Waheeda Harris | April 6, 2010

Postcards

Do you send postcards?

 I used to love to send and receive postcards.

It was one of the joys of friends and family travelling as much as when I was travelling to send off a quick missive to my parents or a good friend.

I loved to see the moniker Wish You Were Here! was always a welcome wee sign in the mailbox, no matter the destination or the sender.

As communication has changed, and the ability to be in contact much easier and faster thanks to mobile phones and the internet, mail l.ost its allure for many travellers.

Letters aren’t sent and email is used all the time to send that quick message, update or photo.

I stopped sending postcards when I travelled, despite the fact that I would still see them in shops and find free postcards in cafes, bars and in hotels.

But at the beginning of this year, I decided to renew my commitment to postcards. I promised myself that I would send postcards – writing a quick and funny message and sending it off, hoping it will get to my friends or family.

I hope that when they go check their mailbox there will be a surprise – not a bill or a flyer or an envelope to be ignored, but a photograph of a place I’ve been and a shared delight in the connection made through an old fashioned communique of where I’ve been.


Leave a comment

Categories