Posted by: Waheeda Harris | May 6, 2010

Sh Contemporary 9 – Shanghai

I was in Shanghai last September and attended the sh Contemporary 9 – The annual Asia Pacific Contemporary Art Fair. I was struck by the wide variety of modern art, with a dedicated focus on Asian artists and themes.

I was impressed by the number of attendees, wandering around and absorbing the pop culture, feminism, and graphic design styles that seemed to be influencing various artists. I appreciated the sense of humour found within a lot of works, and the combination of techniques and materials that I felt was very fresh and challenging.

But visitors were not only interested in art, but capturing the images with their mobile phone cameras and digital cameras. Despite the art pieces all being for sale by galleries from across Asia and the world, there was no one preventing anyone from capturing images.

I regret that I didn’t note down all the artists names on some of my favourite works of art I saw at the exhibition – my apologies to the artists for not giving credit with these images. I hope I will come across the artists again and be able to purchase something.


Leave a comment

Categories