Posted by: Waheeda Harris | January 21, 2010

Travel inspiration – Elizabeth Kiester & Wanderlust

When you’re travelling, there’s always favourite places, people, museums, temples, or vistas that become permanently etched  in your memory. But for many of us, one place hooks us, not getting out of our system. For Elizabeth Kiester of Wanderlust, it was the country of Cambodia. Elizabeth kindly revealed to GTS her love of travel, her adopted home and how she’s making a difference:

When did you start travelling? 

My first trip abroad was when I was 13, in 1978. I spent a month in London, visiting with my Dad. It was an amazing, eye opening experience.

It was the peak of the punk rock movement there, and I remember being amazed by all the Mohawks, the piercings and the fashion anarchy, and it really knocked me out. I got seriously bitten by the travel bug, with no remedy in sight! 

What first led you to Cambodia?

I signed up for a volunteer holiday through a US non-profit. I had done a short term volunteer holiday program a few years back in the Mekong Delta in Vietnam and I enjoyed the experience immensely. I was in a period where I really wanted to do something other than sit on a beach. I needed to be active, dive into something, work with my hands, and connect with people. Cambodia was always on my radar, and after I did the program in Vietnam, I knew I wanted to do another one in Cambodia. So I signed up for it and landed in Siem Reap….

When did you launch Wanderlust?

After completing the program in Siem Reap, I couldn’t get Cambodia out of my mind. I decided to take a leap of faith, come back for the summer and see if I could get something started. Within six weeks, I had found a 1929 French Colonial house right in town! I found local seamstresses, trained them, bought materials, renovated the house, had store fixtures built, made a sign, did it all!

I went back to NYC at the end of August, sold all my belongings, came back in October 2008, opened the shop a week after my return. Since then, I’ve opened another shop in Phnom Penh, and launched an e-commerce site, so it’s been a very busy 15 months!

Describe Wanderlust and all its wonderful items.

Wanderlust is a mood, a spirit, a lifestyle. It’s evocative and energetic. I am trying to create a brand that speaks to women who love fashion but don’t need/want/can’t spend a zillion dollars for it, who are into supporting women in need and fair trade, but aren’t into the usual ‘hippie bohemian” look that usually goes along with those ethos.

Wanderlust is for people who desire things to work in a million different places–stuff that looks cute on the beach in Thailand, but equally cool at a restaurant in Paris. I want my clothes to “wanderlust” with my customer–to move, travel and explore and be appropriate, comfy and pretty in many different locations. I work really hard to seek out local craftsmen in Cambodia to create gorgeous, special clothing that translates into a universal fashion dialogue.

The bonus is that it helps people who need to have hope and desire a better future for themselves and their families. I am not into guilt marketing. I want people to love our stuff because it’s gorgeous, cool and fun, and has added emotional value One of the bags, for example, was created by the disabled in Phnom Penh, by a group that may have had few prospects for a job or opportunity to be creative or learn a trade. It’s important to me and I think my customer appreciates it as well.

For more information: Wanderlust


Responses

  1. […] more about Elizabeth Kiester here and get inspired by five options from […]


Leave a comment

Categories